enceledean

A Wild Ride in Hitman's Freelancer mode

in Morocco, I have a bonus objective to kill the syndicate leader during their tell. I figure out who the syndicate leader is, and their route puts them in the school yard turned military base. I clamber up to the secret area behind the professor’s patio (where the axe is) that has a perfect view of the schoolyard.

I shoot the target while she’s smoking, awesome. Diana congratulates me, the mission end music begins to swell. The body is immediately found but none of the soldiers can see me, so no problem there.

The first problem is, I have no way out of this secret area without being immediately spotted. It’s a small ledge basically that overlooks the school, which contains dozens of military guys, all now crowding around and staring up at where I am, should I poke my head out. No problem, they can’t get up here and can’t see me, so they’ll never find me.

The next problem, I realize after about a minute of just waiting and watching the AI swarm around the schoolyard below, is hitman AI will also not switch off Searching mode until the suspicious area of the map is swept and cleared. They cannot reach this area of the map. They do not stop Searching. The end mission music swell continues.

After another minute or so I think well, there’s really one way out of this situation, as best I can tell. I start inching forward with my silenced pistol, and gently shoot one of the guards. Then another, and another. Bodies begin piling up, but no Body Found messages appear for reasons I still don’t know.

A dozen silenced headshots later, a Assassin is alerted. I kill him like the others. The end music horns continue their triumphant swell. A dozen more shots later, finally, the ad hoc military base goes silent. The Searching status is unceremoniously disappears. I climb down from the secret area, and tread over the bodies. I remark to @modernmodron (who has watched this entire scene play out) it's like walking around in debug mode. It's strange seeing a Hitman environment, normally one of a constant motion, fall completely silent. I turn and leave the map, to the swell of the triumphant end mission music.